3089 Update: v0.40a

Screenshot from 2013-03-26 14:30:10

 

Hey all,

You can see a sneak peak of the new NPC type above ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve also improved the construction tool a bit. It should be easier to place mount points — there was a bug that caused it to be inaccurate before. You can also use the construction tool menu to select a reclaiming mode to remove things you’ve built. There is a bunch of other things on that construction list yet to be implemented ๐Ÿ˜‰

I made some tweaks to difficulty & health ratings for some NPC types… it should make things like roller tanks drop lower level loot, but be a bit stronger.

My next project will be improving the quests — something that has been heavily requested ๐Ÿ™‚ The “Kill X Robots” quest type will be significantly changed to something else (or removed entirely). I also want to add some new quest task types that use new NPC types. I’ve also got to get that “Unknown Entity” implemented and get more of the story filled in… ๐Ÿ˜›

OK, back to work!

– Phr00t

7 responses to “3089 Update: v0.40a

  1. Got to play a good many hours the last couple of days. I just want to say that I’m really enjoying it. I enjoy having long-range or indoor duels with lob-based launchers. The weapon building is a very rewarding mechanic.

  2. Are you still considering implementing some sort of skiing mechanic? Such as frictionless boots, with a key bound to turning them on and off? The slopes are really nice in this game…

    • Thanks, I like the slopes too ๐Ÿ™‚

      I did think of the skiing mechanic… however, I couldn’t figure out how it’d be different than just running & jumping down the slopes. You already can run pretty fast… :/

      • Well, I guess I was imagining that it would help you build even more speed…and then you could use the momentum to go up slopes as well.

        Sort of like Tribes 2 I suppose, but without a jetpack. You would either have to find a really long slope, such as when starting up in the clouds, or be creative with the grappling hook to hit shorter slopes at the right angle.

        But I imagine that skiing physics might be really tricky, and movement is already great without it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. apparently i am unable to get updates. I tried to update it via the BMT micro update function but it does not work, please help.

Leave a Reply

