3089 Update: v0.25a

Hey all,

Another NPC with a whole new weapon type has been added to the game! 🙂 However, you may have to play a bit before seeing it. Much like how the first new NPC was unlocked, you need to build up your skill points to unlock new NPCs.

I’ve also begun mapping out how the story will play out with new places to discover. I also plan on adding some more quest types that use newly unlocked NPC types.

I did get some bugs fixed in this recent release, like buildings overlapping each other (unfortunately, this will cause buildings to shift around in your saved games & old backup stations might cause some odd placement behaviors). Some crashes have also been fixed — thank you for the reports & keep them coming!

I’m going to work on the spawning & quest issues some more — still trying to figure out what works best in terms of reliability while preventing it from “jumping around” too much. This will get resolved!

OK, back to work 🙂

– Phr00t

9 responses to “3089 Update: v0.25a

    • You have to get your skills to add up to 100+ before the new NPC starts to spawn… so I doubt you’ll see it in the demo 😛

  1. Seems good.. I will need to download the latest and test out how the balancing is now.. I did get a decent run in a game after I decided to be a little more bold in my exploration as well as breaking every box I came across..

  2. I have a tendency to always start a new character upon death. I don’t know…it’s hard to stay with a character after it died once…I feel like I lost the narrative. So, it will probably be a long time before I see the new NPC and weapon. hehe

    • Interesting… are you activating backup stations to quickly get back into the game? Granted this is the alpha version so I can’t guarantee saved games will never break, but you should be wanting to build up a character to stick with, even if you die from time to time. Is it just your play style to restart (which is OK)?

      • Yea, it’s just my play style. I sometimes continue a character from a backup station…but when I do that I just feel like I lost momentum or something, like my character becomes illegitimate or something. It’s hard to explain. I really like that you remove a random piece of gear upon death…but its still hard for me to accept “respawning”.

Leave a Reply

